Pistachio Butter

I know what you’re thinking. It’s just a jar of gross green mush. This is probably the most unappetizing-looking thing I’ve ever tried to make pretty, but I promise you it tastes amazing. I wouldn’t be sharing the recipe with you if I didn’t think it was!

I’m a fan of nut butters.
I’m actually a HUGE fan of nut butters.
I could eat jars upon jars of that stuff. Peanut. Almond. You name it.

So here’s where my love for nut butters comes into play. I was walking through Trader Joe’s yesterday, looking at all the amazing products they have, and saw their Mixed Nut Butter sitting right on the shelf amongst all the others. My heart skipped a beat. I’d heard so much about it, but had yet to try it. A mix of almonds, cashews, walnuts, brazil nuts, hazelnuts, and pecans would surely be nothing but delicious. Now this is what got me thinking of all the other nuts I’d never even considered to be butters. It’s definitely already been done, but I thought I’d take a stab at making my own pistachio butter. Couldn’t hurt to at least try it.

I read up on as much as I could, figuring out the do’s and don’ts of making nut butters. All I knew for sure was that I did not want to add oil. After a few minutes of processing the pistachios, I began to worry. Maybe the fat content was too low to create a butter out of it, maybe I did need a bit of oil, or maybe I’m just not cut out to make nut butters. I don’t admit this too often, but I was wrong. I did it. I scraped along and managed to create something that I’m having a hard time staying away from.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Pistachio Butter

  • Servings: 1 cup
  • Time: 30 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

An unusual yet deceivingly delicious nut butter that will make you want to put it on everything if you don't eat it all right after you're done.

It will take a long time to get the pistachios from their raw form to a butter. Make sure to stop and scrape the sides of the food processor every so often, giving the machine time to rest because it can get over-worked. DO NOT add any liquids or oil to this recipe. I promise if you keep processing the pistachios for at least 20-30 minutes, it will turn into a creamy butter. Have patience.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups raw unsalted pistachio nutmeat
  • 1 Tbs maple syrup
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Add pistachios to a food processor and begin processing. You will need to use a processor because a blender won’t have enough power for this.
  2. Every 4 minutes or so, stop processing and scrape the sides to make sure all the pistachio bits are getting incorporated. This will also allow the machine to rest. Since it will generate heat from working so hard, you don’t want to burn it out.
  3. After 10-12 minutes, add the maple syrup, cinnamon, and vanilla extract while the machine is processing. Keep it going to ensure even distribution of ingredients.
  4. Once the mixture is worked enough, the nuts will release their own oils, creating a creamy texture. Don’t give up on it. Give it at least 30 minutes and I promise it will work.
  5. Store in a sealed jar and keep it in the fridge. Without preservatives it can spoil more easily if kept in a cupboard.

I honestly can’t stop eating this stuff by the spoonful. It’s so dang good! Hope you guys enjoy is as much as I do :)

– Corinne xx

8 thoughts on “Pistachio Butter

  1. As a total almond butter addict, I have to admit that this beautiful green color is tempting me! I feel like pistachios totally get neglected when it comes to the nut butter game, and you made it look amazing!! I haven’t heard of a mixed nut butter with so many in one jar – what’d you think?! Seems like with so many in one you would lose the pure, delicious flavors of each nut! Just curious what you thought. But this pistachio butter looks DIVINE. :)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

