Date Ball Series: Chocolate Chunk Dirty Chai

This is probably my favorite of all the Date Ball Series just because there are so many cool flavors going on. Going in, I wasn’t sure how these were going to turn out, but I’m so happy I did it! This part of the series was inspired by my love for both tea and coffee.

IMG_7238.jpgIMG_7239.jpg

I’ve been to a few coffee shops where dirty chai’s are common, but I’ve never been brave enough to try one. This flavor popped into my head one night as I was drifting off to sleep and I had to try it. I wasn’t sure how I’d add the flavors because I’d never tried using straight tea leaves or coffee grounds in a recipe before, but I thought hey why not?

IMG_7241IMG_7247IMG_7253

The chocolate chunks were an afterthought. When I first tried the mixture, it seemed to need a little something else so I grabbed a bar from the cabinet, chopped it up, and threw it in.

IMG_7264IMG_7266

I hope you guys enjoy these as much as I enjoyed making them! They’re unlike anything I’ve ever tasted before and I love them. Even if you’ve never had a dirty chai before, try the recipe out. You may be pleasantly surprised with how they turn out :)

IMG_7277IMG_7273

Chocolate Chunk Dirty Chai Date Balls

  • Servings: 13
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

A variation of my Chewy Chocolate Date Balls, these sweet treats are a perfect snack to curb your cravings! The spices of the chai and coffee blend perfectly with the sweet dates and savory chocolate.

**If dealing with dates on the drier side, let them soak in warm water for about two minutes. Don’t soak them for too long because the water will absorb their flavor and sweetness. Drain the water and add the dates to the food processor as instructed in the directions.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup pitted dates (about 8-10 dates depending on their size)**
  • 2 tsp espresso instant coffee
  • 1 tsp chai tea leaves (approximately 1 tea bag)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 100% cacao chocolate bar
  • 1 cup oats (best with Bob’s Red Mill Rolled Oats but completely fine with any other kind of oats like Quaker’s One Minute)

Directions

  1. Use a food processor to blend the dates until it creates a paste-like texture. There should be no bits left.
  2. Add in the espresso instant coffee, chai tea leaves, vanilla extract, and oats.
  3. Turn on the food processor and mix the ingredients. Keep the processor going until the ingredients fully combine to form a ball on their own. **If after waiting 5 minutes of processing and the ingredients don’t form a ball, add one date at a time until it does. Wait at least a minute in between adding dates to make sure you don’t add too many.
  4. Roughly chop up half a 100% cacao chocolate bar. The one I used didn’t have any added sugar, it was purely chocolate, but it was perfectly sweet when eaten with the dates. You’re more than welcome to use any kind of chocolate bar you like though!
  5. Roll the mixture into balls and they’re ready to go! You can roll the balls as little or as big as you’d like. This recipe will make 12 balls about 1 inch in diameter.

That’s it for now for the Date Ball Series! I hope you’ve liked the flavors I’ve made so far. If you like these, check out the other kinds: Cherry Pistachio and Key Lime Pie. I have a few more flavors in mind, but I still need to figure out the recipes so bear with me. Comment below if you have any suggestions!

– Corinne xx

4 thoughts on “Date Ball Series: Chocolate Chunk Dirty Chai

Leave a Reply

