The Adventurer Inside

As spring break comes to an end I’ve realized how much I don’t want to go back to school, but not because I don’t want to work. I actually enjoy learning (when it’s not stressful). I don’t want to go back because I feel so trapped when I’m on campus. Knowing I’m going to transfer next fall has made me reconsider everything. It feels like a huge waste of a year. Every single day is the same routine. I wake up, go to class, do work, and sleep. Over and over again. The semester is halfway over, but the finish line seems so far away still.

While I’ve lost people close to me in the last few months, I’ve also formed new friendships. Some I consider more true than others, but nonetheless I’ve met a lot of different people throughout my time at college.

I’m excited for the fall, but I just can’t shake the feeling that I’m limited in everything I do while I’m at school now. No one should feel like that in college. It’s a time to explore and find what you’re truly passionate about. So heed my advice, those of you who are currently looking at college, find a school that genuinely interests you and provides courses that facilitate your intrigue. Don’t settle for a university simply because of its reputation. Do what makes you happy because at the end of the day you’re the one that’s living there.

My apprehension comes from a place of good intention. I just want to make the most of the time I have. I don’t want to waste it on trivial things like fake friends or incompetent professors. I want to explore the passions that drive me. I want to drive across country in a bus. I want to learn another language by immersing myself in an entirely different culture. I want to push my own boundaries to experience things I’d never even dreamed of.

I want to be an adventurer.
– Corinne xx

4 thoughts on “The Adventurer Inside

  1. Beautifully written and beautiful picures! I can relate to you so well. I finish school in summer and I just donโ€™t have any motivation anymore. I just want to have time to do the things I really love and I canโ€™t wait for when all my exams are over! I wish you all the best for your last few months!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

