Fluffy Chocolate Waffles

Over break I was craving something my parents so often made for me as a child: breakfast food. Being completely plant-based now, my parents aren’t exactly sure how to prepare meals. They’re so used to using animal products. That’s how they grew up. There’s nothing at all wrong with that, but it has forced me to experiment by myself. Hopefully one day they’ll be able to learn!

The idea for these yummy pancakes popped into my head as I was wandering through the grocery store. I first picked up a package of the Neat Egg™ out of curiosity because I’d heard about it, but wanted to see what it was like. The concept was very intriguing, so I put it in my cart. Then I came across the coconut yogurts and waffles immediately came to mind for the next day’s breakfast. It may seem a bit strange, but my aunt used to make huge batches of pancakes for my cousins, brother, and I when we slept over and she always gave us the option to top them with syrup or yogurt.

img_6893img_6898img_6908

I usually buy my rolled oats in large quantities from the Whole Foods bulk section because it’s a lot cheaper than buying the pre-packaged kind (TIP: they also have really delicious dried mango). So I threw together the ingredients in a way that I thought seemed practical, following a similar pattern like when I used to make regular waffles. I used apple sauce to make sure the waffles wouldn’t dry out and  made sure to use baking powder in order to help them rise in the offset of the acidic apple sauce.

img_1233img_1236

I topped them with some coconut yogurt and fresh fruit and they were done. It’s so simple and easy. Making them shouldn’t take more than 25 minutes at most and the only oil used is to grease the griddle. They’re guilt-free and a great way to start your day! Enjoy :)

Fluffy Chocolate Berry Waffles

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

If you’d like to make regular waffles (not chocolate) just leave out the cacao powder. I’ve tried it and it doesn’t change the outcome, the waffles are just as yummy.

Ingredients

  • 2/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup spelt flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 Tbs cacao powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 7 Tbs almond milk
  • 4 Tbs apple sauce
  • 2 Tbs maple syrup
  • 1 Neat Egg™

Directions

  1. Pulse the oats in a blender and grind them into a fine, flour-like texture.
  2. Combine all dry ingredients in a large bowl with a whisk.
  3. Combine all wet ingredients in a separate bowl with a whisk.
  4. Slowly pour the wet ingredients into the large bowl, whisking to combine both the wet and dry ingredients to form a batter. Be careful not to over stir, so the pancakes maintain their fluffiness.
  5. Spray both sides of a waffle griddle with Trader Joe’s Coconut Oil Spray or your preferred greasing product so the waffles don’t stick.
  6. Wait for the griddle to heat up, then pour 1/3 cup of batter onto each side (depending on the design of your waffle-maker, there may only be one spot for one waffle so just use one scoop).
  7. After a few minutes check to see if the waffles are cooked all the way through. It’s a bit harder to tell with the chocolate ones because of their original color, but you’ll be able to see the brown color has gotten a little darker (golden brown for those who choose to leave out the cacao powder).
  8. Serve with your favorite toppings: berries, nuts, maple syrup, dairy-free yogurt, nut spreads (peanut butter, almond butter, chocolate hazelnut), fresh fruit, etc.
  9. ** I chose berry coconut yogurt and strawberries with the chocolate waffles and mango coconut yogurt with fresh mango for the regular waffles. Both have a tiny drizzle of maple syrup too.

– Corinne xx

Leave a Reply

