Starting Out

I guess in the wake of everything that has happened in the past twenty-four hours, I was inspired to finally make this blog. For a while now I’ve been trying to generate something similar to this: a platform where I can share my ideas. A blog turned out to be the best form of what I was trying to accomplish, combining photography, writing, and even a bit of creative cooking when inspired.

Basically what started this whole thing was the Presidential Election of 2016. Donald Trump is going to be President of the United States for the next four years and I’m still in a state of disbelief. As an 18-year-old, this was my first election ever. Great way to start out, right? Going into it I was registered as an Independent. Still am. I firmly believe that a nation with two parties is a nation divided. As stated by John Adams, a founding father,

“There is nothing which I dread so much as a division of the republic into two great parties, each arranged under its leader, and concerting measures in opposition to each other. This, in my humble apprehension, is to be dreaded as the greatest political evil under our Constitution.”

People shouldn’t feel confined by their political parties. Similarly, candidates shouldn’t feel the need to be defined by a specific set of beliefs set forth by a single political party. We’re a diverse country, founded on the idea of freedom. People should be able to express their views in ways not characterized by a political party.

Anyways, this this blog isn’t about politics. I guess I just felt the need to lash out in a radically liberal way. Making a blog doesn’t make me a radical liberal in anyway shape or form, but it has given me more freedom than I’ve ever known. It has given me the little push I needed in order to finally set in motion what I’ve only dreamt of doing before. Being able to write and allow my voice to be heard by an audience is enough, even if there are none of you.

So, today I decided that I’m going to eat a more plant based diet. I’m not just jumping right into it and quitting animal products cold turkey. The dining hall at my college doesn’t have the best meat choices, so I’ve been steering clear of those anyway for the past three months. I’ve been thinking about going solely plant based for a while now, but never had the courage to actually do it. It’ll be a trial and error period. There’s two weeks until Thanksgiving, so I’ll re-evaluate in fourteen days and let you know how I’m doing. So far I feel totally fine. Still tired from staying up to watch the election results until 2 AM, but nothing out of the ordinary. My skin is a complete disaster after my mom came to visit for parent’s weekend. She took me out to lunch and dinner, which was amazing because I got to eat real food! Lunch was delicious and actually completely plant-based (mandarin almond salad, pumpkin silver dollar pancakes, and a marble cupcake), but dinner was what got me. I ate way too much. I couldn’t help it, I’m a poor college student who wanted to take advantage of her mom paying for meals…

I woke up for my 8:30 AM class this morning, thinking it’d be a productive day, but I was completely wrong. The reality of the election is setting in and I’m still trying to fathom the idea of a narcissistic, sexist, racist, and overall politically incorrect human being acting as President. Going on social media doesn’t help with it either. I guess I can say it’s been productive in finally making this blog!

Happy to finally have this baby :)

Hope you enjoy reading it as much as I do creating it!

– Corinne xx

Leave a Reply

